Skip to content

Are my reading aspirations mocking my actual reading?

February 21, 2012

Yes, yes, yes!

Books are crawling in slowly, steadily, filling up my room. Book shelves are spilling into the bags where I store the ones which I have read, the bags which are bursting at their seams. Somebody advised an e-book reader but I wasn’t impressed. How will I show off my books? It’s like asking women to stop buying jewellery and invest in gold bonds or something.

If I have an addiction, it is that I can’t stop buying books. I read a lot of blogs on books and follow book-sections of most newspapers and ever since there has been a something called flipkart, my book buying behaviour has known no bounds.

Sometimes I think, am I one of those responsible for death of the ‘bookstore’? I don’t know. Maybe not. The bookstores died long back when they started mixing books with pleasures of coffees and greeting cards. They started dying when they couldn’t manage to upkeep a poetry section properly. Bookstores, at least the multi-storeyed, multi-chained ones are full of whining kids (parents don’t buy them all the toys they want), still air, books kept in wrong shelves and employees taking forever to find them. Where is the love and peace?

So, here is how I buy books these days:

1.       Listen to and read up on book recommendations

2.       Research if the book suits my taste or is something I want to experiment with

3.       Search for it online

4.       See if it is less than Rs. 400 and less than 400 pages (an upper limit I set for myself so that I no more buy those heavy, expensive coffee table books. I have no coffee tables to keep them on.)

5.       Order the book and await delivery

6.       Open the nicely packaged book with a paper cutter

7.       Read the back cover and remove the price tag (to feel less guilty in case I don’t end up reading it soon enough or completely)

8.       Open the book, smell its newness, love it.

Even if it is titled ‘Nausea’.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 2:09 pm

    Haha. I feel you, I do! Flipkart is my best friend. I commune with it a couple of times a month, ordering away! 😀 I have no resolve, control, discipline, nothing. I buy like a starved fiend. I don’t feel too guilty about not reading all of them. Collect, collect. Save for a rainy day, is what I tell myself. And as a reaction to your Sartre, I’m reading Simone De Beauvoir. Memoirs of a Dutiful Daughter. Dense, but loving it. For once, NOT bought off Flipkart. However infrequently, in the post-Flipkart era, bookstores I still love. To discover new names, we must still indulge. Enjoy your new deliveries:)

    • February 23, 2012 5:41 pm

      Aah..Beauvoir’s ‘The Second Sex’ is on my wishlist but it’s a pretty hefty read…I haven’t read her before…

  2. February 24, 2012 3:16 am

    My day isn’t complete without a visit to flipkart.com and yes, we are responsible for the death of bookstores

Leave a Reply

