Skip to content

No, I did not attend the concert.

February 18, 2011

So, Bryan Adams.

I don’t know how vital it is to like his music.  If you put a gun on my head and ask me to list his top 5 songs, I may mumble ’18 till I die’ and that too only because I saw it as a dozen status messages.I don’t recall listening to his music. I am not a fan. Therefore, I did not attend his concert.

Today, when everyone was raving and ranting about how good the concert was, I felt a pang of achy sadness…not out of regret or envy, but because there won’t ever be a concert for me to attend. Most of my favorite singers are gone, just dead or they are disbanded or they just play at fancy award shows. Why can’t I be as crazed about au courant music?

So, to lift my spirits up, I re-watched the recordings of all the concerts I could have been the shrieking lunatic fan at had I lived in different times. Here are my top 3…

The Beatles; Shea stadium Aug 1965.

This was the first American concert of my all time favorite band, when ‘Beatlemania’ was at its peak. I love how they look so young and so similar in their gray colored jackets and bowl cut hair and still how different they are in how they individually perform and generally goof around. I particularly love watching the audience, drenched in sixties fashion and free spirit.

Queen; Live aid concert at Wembley stadium July 1985

Freddie Mercury! What showmanship! What stage presence! And what a concert! There was nothing over the top about this concert, no special props or fancy lightings or elaborate costumes… just pure pleasure of watching the band rock and Freddie, in a white singlet, dish out song after song . Ever wonder why this packed crowd of more than fifty thousand people didn’t put their hands down throughout the entire performance? It was because each one of them  felt Freddie was exclusively singing for them.

Janis Joplin; Woodstock Aug 1969

She was mostly stoned, her voice more raspy, and she only got to be on the stage after waiting for ten hours (apparently there were more important and popular singers ahead of her). Ever saw a drop of water disappear in burning sand? Janis was that drop. She let herself go, all of her. The stage ate her up, the crowds ate her up. I am so sure her voice would have echoed that whole night long and days after that, even after she had stopped singing.

Anyways, Bryam Adams.

Really, what are his top 5 songs?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 8:09 am

    sure get ur sentiments there! I wish I could have seen Freddie live in concert. What an amazing performer. Now my only hope for a favorite in concert is Coldplay.

  2. February 26, 2011 12:06 pm

    he needs to die already.

    really.

Leave a Reply

