Skip to content

Buzzkill

November 27, 2010

My cousin’s wedding. I guess that concludes the weddings I was supposed to and did attend this year. My parents have seven more weddings to go to this month and they aren’t exactly thrilled about it because at every wedding, they are asked, “So, when is your daughter getting hitched?” or something similar.

I am 28. Over the hill? Hmmm. Maybe a future single-30 me should panic. Or maybe not. I am not an ageist. Or for that matter actively looking for more responsibilities that come with marriage. But that is not the only reason. Marriage for love is doable still. To meet a complete stranger and be given a deadline of a few months for love before planning to live one’s entire life with him seems weird. My mom’s argument to all this is:

1.       We all were complete strangers once.

2.       Then we meet.

3.       Love can happen before wedding. Or afterwards. Or it just may not.

4.       Anyways, love and reality are separate. Stop watching movies.

5.       Girls your age are having kids.

I don’t have a counter argument. Maybe I have listened to too many Beatles numbers and live in a bubble of  ‘all that loving’. Also, you can’t hurry love.

Not that I don’t meet the guys my mom sets me up with. But then in the past one year there have been only two dudes and they were ‘duds’. My mom thinks I ask for too much in a guy and will never end up getting married. I disagree with the former and try to imagine the ramifications of the latter. It isn’t easy. It will never be.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 6:23 am

    Hang in there. All us single twenty-seven year old girls need to stick together. 🙂 Especially when our mothers drive us up the wall!

Leave a Reply

